促进排卵

大多数情况下,治疗周期以患者服用避孕药开始。这样是为便于时间安排。通过给患者服用避孕药,我们可以调控她的月经周期,使其可以预测。这样我们可以更好地事先计划,提前为患者提供治疗的确切日期。患者通常需要在为期至少17天至5-6周的时间段内服用药物。避孕药不会对患者的怀孕几率造成任何影响,相反,其可能有助于产生一批同步生长的卵泡或卵子。

Lupron® or Ganirelex® / Cetrotide®

促进排卵

约在停止避孕药前5天,患者开始每天注射Lupron®。周期表会标注出剂量。Lupron®会抑制垂体卵巢轴(也就是说,它会让卵巢“睡着”),这样我们就可以通过生殖药物控制卵巢。如果不使用Lupron®,就会存在卵子在我们尚未准备好取卵时就排放的重大风险。

Lupron®利用小针管通过皮下注射。患者将每天接受Lupron注射直到被通知停药。对于有些患者,基于许多不同因素,我们可能使用Ganirelex 或Cetrotide®防止排卵,而非Lupron®。

叶酸是一种维生素,每个试图怀孕的患者在孕前都应当与产前维生素一起服用。

生殖药物

生殖激素通常在 Lupron注射后10-12天后,并在基线雌二醇血液测量或超声检查是否有囊肿后开始使用。包括以下一种或几种合并使用:

  • Gonal-f®, Follistim® or Bravelle® (given subcutaneously (SQ) )(皮下注射)
  • Repronex® (Intramuscular (IM or SQ)) or Menopur® (SQ)

这些药物会刺激卵巢产生多个卵子。根据患者的年龄,卵子储备和使用的药量,对于这些药物的反应各不相同。周期表应当清晰标注出药物剂量。这些药物一天使用一次(通常在晚上)或两次(早上和晚上)。药物的混合与注射说明在治疗开始前就会给患者。患者会被告知什么时候停药。如果患者提前停药,可能导致治疗周期取消。

这些药物通常在取卵前10-14天使用。一些病人可能需要服用更长的周期以成功刺激卵巢。这常见于年长的患者或促卵泡激素水平高的女性。多数患者在使用这些药物一周后会进行阴道超声波检查。

附加药物

在或约在胚胎移植时,所有患者都会使用被称为孕酮的激素。该激素有助于支持合子的发育。

偶尔患者会伴随使用其他药物包括血液稀释药,如肝素,Lovinox,低剂量阿司匹林和/或 Medrol(类固醇)以治疗免疫方面的问题。这些药物与生殖药物同一天开始使用。病人会收到何时停止这些药物的进一步说明。

叶酸是一种维生素,每个试图怀孕的患者在孕前都应当与产前维生素一起服用。有显示在受孕后的前50-70天期间服用叶酸可以减少严重出生缺陷(神经管缺陷,如脊柱裂)的发生率。从使用生殖药物刺激同一天开始,患者将服用叶酸1 毫克/天或产前维生素。

偶尔会需要使用其他药物如Medrol 或IVIG。这种情况下病人会收到进一步说明。

Contact Us

Please use this form to contact us. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Ovarian Stimulation

In most cases, the treatment cycle starts with the patient taking birth control pills. This is for scheduling purposes. By putting the patient on BCPs, we are able to manipulate her menstrual cycle to make it predictable. In this manner we are able to better plan ahead and provide the patient with specific treatment dates that can be set well in advance. The patient will usually take these pills for a period of at least 17 days to up to 5-6 weeks. BCPs will in no way harm the patient’s chances of conceiving, at the contrary, it might help produced a synchronously growing batch of follicles or eggs.

Lupron® or Ganirelex® / Cetrotide®

Ovarian Stimulation

Roughly 5 days before the last BCP, the patient starts taking daily Lupron® injections. The dose will be indicated on the Calendar. Lupron® will suppress the pituitary-ovarian axis (i.e. it will put the ovaries to “sleep”) so that we can control the ovaries with fertility medications. If Lupron® is not taken, then there is significant risk that the eggs might be released before we are ready to “harvest” them.

Lupron® is administered as a subcutaneous injection (under the skin) with a small needle. The patient will take daily Lupron injections until otherwise indicated. In some patients, based on many different factors, we might use Ganirelex or Cetrotide® to prevent ovulation rather then using Lupron®. These subcutaneous injections are usually taken once a day starting few days before the egg retrieval.

Folic acid is a vitamin that every patient attempting to conceive should take prior to conception along with prenatal vitamins.

Fertility Medications

The fertility hormones are usually started 10-12 days after the Lupron injections and after a baseline Estradiol blood measurement or ultrasound examination to check for the presence of cysts. These include one or a combination of the following:

  • Gonal-f®, Follistim® or Bravelle® (given subcutaneously (SQ) )
  • Repronex® (Intramuscular (IM or SQ)) or Menopur® (SQ)

These medications will stimulate the ovaries to produce multiple eggs. The response to these drugs varies according to the patient’s age, her ovarian reserve and the amount of drugs given. The dose should be clearly indicated on the Calendar.

These drugs are given once (usually in the evening) or twice daily (morning and evening). Mixing and injection instructions will be given to the patient prior to treatment initiation. The patient will be told when to stop taking these drugs. If the patient stops taking these medications prematurely, it might lead to the cancellation of the cycle.

These drugs are usually taken for 10 to 14 days prior to egg retrieval. Some patients might need a longer period of time to have a successful stimulation. This is common in older patient or women with elevated FSH levels. A vaginal ultrasound examination will be performed one week after the start of these medications in most patients.

Additional Medications

All patients will be given a hormone called Progesterone, at or around the time of embryo transfer. This hormone helps to support the developing zygote.

Occasionally, patients are placed on other medications concomitantly including blood thinners such as Heparin, Lovinox, Baby Aspirin and/or Medrol (steroid) for immunologic problems. These drugs are also started the same day the fertility drugs are started. Further instructions will be given to the patient as to when to discontinue these medications.

Folic acid is a vitamin that every patient attempting to conceive should take prior to conception along with prenatal vitamins. It has been shown to reduce the incidence of serious birth defects (neural tube defects such as spina bifida) when taken during the first 50-70 days after conception. The patient will be placed on Folic acid 1 mg/day or a prenatal vitamin starting the day of stimulation with fertility drugs.

Occasionally, other medications might need to be administered such as Medrol or IVIG. Further instructions will be given to the patient in these cases.

Contact Us

Please use this form to contact us. We will get back to you as soon as possible.